Steppin’ Out 2014


Join us for Boston’s most anticipated multicultural event of the year:
The Dimock Center’s 27th Annual Steppin’ Out! 

R&B icons The O’Jays will headline this year’s creative black tie affair along with a variety of other local artists, including singer, songwriter and Boston R&B and pop sensation, Louie Bello. Mark your calendars for this not-to-miss event, held on November 1st in downtown Boston at the Westin Copley Place. The extraordinary evening celebrates the road to wellness that is created by Dimock’s comprehensive and holistic approach to health and human services. Located on a nine-acre campus in the heart of Roxbury’s Egleston Square, The Dimock Center serves thousands of Boston residents, including the most vulnerable.

The O’Jays have enjoyed one of the longest and most influential careers in the R&B world. Their legions of fans worldwide, ranging from millennials to baby boomers, are a testament that great music-making and powerhouse showmanship will never go out of style. For over 50 years they’ve been producing some of biggest chart-topping hits in the industry such as, “Back Stabbers,” “For the Love of Money,” “Love Train,” “Use Ta Be My Girl,” and the list goes on and on.

Other local performers include, Lydia Lyon, Manolo Mairena Y Curubande, Zumix Jazz Alls-Stars, Rashad McPherson & Divine Purpose and DJ Reggie Beas. To learn more about these great artists here.

For questions regarding general admission tickets, please contact Makeysha Montgomery, 617.442.8800, ext. 1224.

Jennifer Holliday is this year’s VIP performer. Holliday’s show-stopping, heart-wrenching performance of the torch ballad, “And I’m Telling You, I’m Not Going,” in the smash hit Broadway musical, Dreamgirls, made her a household name and introduced her big soulful voice to the world. Her portrayal of Effie “Melody” White, a role she co-created, garnered a Tony Award for Best Actress in a Musical and her first Grammy Award for Best R&B Female Vocalist. The VIP reception begins at 5:30 p.m. and is open to sponsors and VIP ticket holders only.

This year, we are excited to have an amazing group of co-chairs: Bennie Wiley, Bianca Wilfork, Patricia Rivers, Cecelia Chung, and VaShonda Arrington, as well as our honorary chairs: Honorable Mayor Martin J. Walsh and First Lady Diane Patrick.

We are also honored to have Century Bank as our 2014 Corporate Citizenship Award Recipient.